Skip to content

The Moments Before You Leap

July 6, 2011

Every creative and entrepreneurial act requires a leap. Of faith and trust. We often talk about the leap itself – how freeing it feels. How magnificent it is.

But we rarely talk about the moments just before the leap. The minutes, hours, or days when you are scared shitless and have to decide whether or not you’re going to jump.

Fear and uncertainty will be as present as vision and enthusiasm. Your inner landscape will contain both permission and denial. An internal tug-of-war will rage inside of you.

Blind terror requires blind faith. There is no safety net, just a need. The realization that you must… create, speak, write, make, or do.

The flashes you have moments before you catapult are pure insight. Juicy, explosive, and wise. Tune in and use them as fuel for the jump.

Stretch those hamstrings. Give the knees a little bounce. Make sure you have a running start… I’ll see you on the other side of the abyss.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 11:52 pm

    I call it Bold Faith–and yes, just as stretching is as important as the workout, leaning in to the peri-leaping drama a little bit is KEY to the process. I am fuuuh-reeeking out right now–which looks like watching a lot of tv while I slip behind a little bit on correspondence and do exactly the amount of work I need to keep afloat. That’s my sign that b.i.g. movement is afoot and I look at it as a nourish, hydrate and pack for the seems-like-a-surprise (but has been in motion all along) trip. Let’s GO!

    • July 8, 2011 5:49 pm

      I hear you on freaking out… for me, that means marathons of old & current tv shows. I’m dipping my toes in the water, starting to design my new project. Settled on a name. Bought a domain. Bootstrapping a logo and website. It’s terrifying, really. But, I know that I HAVE TO do this. And soon.

      Bold Faith is juicy. I wanna roll around in it!

  2. July 9, 2011 12:47 am

    Excited for you! THE UNKOWN is SUCH A SCARY THING!

Leave a Reply

