Skip to content

Radical Support. Community That Strengthens, Sustains & Mobilizes.

July 5, 2011

What does radical support look like? That is the question I can’t get out of my head.

For me, radical support is being thoroughly, extremely, fundamentally sustained. In that cocoon of endorsement is safety, which engenders the courage to act.

Let me be clear: I am not talking about codependence. I am not encouraging the idea that there is one person in this world who will make you whole. This is not a fairy-tale notion of romantic love that saves. Oh no.

‘Cause in my world, no woman is an island. We are interconnected and in communion with each other – our sisters and menfolk. I don’t think it’s fair to rely on one person – your mama, papa, sister, or lover – to be your everything.

What is possible and probable is to rely on a community. A group of people, who get each other and who, in concert with one another, can uphold and nurture their members completely. Lovingly. Undeniably.

Radical support is collaboration. It’s both nourishing and challenging. It is the freedom of knowing someone’s got your back paired with the wise trainer who pushes you to the very ends of your capacity.

It’s the stretch and snap of a rubber band; your outer limits and safe harbor.

If you want radical support, then you need to be in a community that is rooted. Connected gut to gut, heart to heart, and soul to soul. Thread together palm to palm and smile to smile.

And you have to offer support in return for that which you receive. In other words, you gotta give for what you take. Oh yes, George Michael.

This is why you need to be oh-so-intentional about who receives your faith. Are they worthy of your wild and unstoppable support? Will they reciprocate?

I am enchanted by the idea of radical support. Illuminated and hungry, I want in on this kind of community.

Want to help create it with me? Tweet me your ideas, comment below, or e-mail me about where you’ve found radical support in your life. xoxo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 7:56 pm

    Rock on Leigh!! Rock on. I love this. I am so with this. I recently blogged that the solution to your challenge may not lie withing you (something like that) — this is what I meant. We can operate as islands. You’ve go me wondering what this community looks like too. I’ll tweet you my ideas 🙂

  2. July 5, 2011 7:57 pm

    Ack… I meant “can’t” operate as islands! That wasn’t a Freudian slip, I’m just sleep from watching fireworks and wrestling on tv, lol!

Leave a Reply

