Skip to content

Happy New Year!

December 31, 2010

Tonight, I’ll be ushering in the New Year with my nearest and dearest in Siem Reap. Due to work and holidays, not everyone will be present. But, I am excited to celebrate this passage of time.

I’ll be joining friends for a pot-luck dinner at one of my favorite hangouts. Then, we’ll make our way over to Pub Street to partake in what has become a rocking party.

And yet, I can’t help but think of New Years Eves past. Of the multiple day events we created in Albany after college. Of the years I spent at Natasha & Adam’s apartment in Jersey City with so many good friends. Of the year we bar-hopped in the Lower East Side, just the four of us.

Really, my mind keeps going back much further. To seemingly simpler times. To the evening(s) with my grandparents on Randall Avenue in Trenton, New Jersey. Now, I can’t remember if I spent just that first New Years Eve in NJ with them, or more after that. (Mom, can you remember?)

I don’t remember the ball dropping, but I remember the excitement of waiting for it to descend. I don’t remember the countdown, but I do remember the utter merriment of midnight. Midnight meant it was time. Time for my brother and I to stand on the front steps in our pajamas banging wooden spoons against pots and pans while screaming, “Happy New Year!” at the top of our lungs.

It’s hard to top that kind of abandon and glee.

My wishes for you, dear reader, are to celebrate the changing of another year with loved ones; to experience joy and elation throughout 2011; to love and be loved; to be of service; and finally, to inch one step closer to fulfilling your dreams.

xo, L

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 1, 2011 2:57 am

    Happy New Year and it sounds like a good one.

    Leigh you and Brent spent quite a few New Year’s Eve with Mom Mom and Pop and you guys always had a ball.

    You would have your own little appetizers and apple cider to celebrate.

    Love you and miss you. Mom

    • January 3, 2011 11:45 am

      I had a hunch it was more than one, but couldn’t remember exactly. Love you and miss you too, Mom. xoxo.

Leave a Reply

