Skip to content

Let’s Talk Irony

December 17, 2010

On Wednesday, I took 18 of our new employees to the ophthalmologist. Ten of them needed glasses, so we went to the clinic and had pairs made.

Yesterday, halfway between Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, the van driver lost his keys at a rest stop. I scoffed. How could he possibly lose his keys?

Today, I lost my glasses. HOW COULD I POSSIBLY LOSE MY GLASSES? Well, I was happily wearing my sunnies while making my way to my second meeting of the day when my case must have took a magic leap out of my bag. That or evil elves stole them. I don’t understand as my bag was resting cozily in my bicycle basket and I noticed no projectile objects during my ride.

Yeah, life throws curveballs. Mercury retrograde sucks. I had a moment of panic. Of frantically retracing my steps and scouring the ground for my beloved glasses.

When I realized they were nowhere to be found, I felt I had no other choice but to accept that I mysteriously lost my glasses this morning. Let it be. Pause for a moment, then figure out how to replace them.

In the meantime, I’ll be squinting or holding things very close to my face. Visually, life is very surreal currently. Only what is right in front of me is in focus. The rest is a blur. I’m keenly aware of how strange things look and how naked my face feels.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

