Skip to content

Got My Thinking Cap

March 23, 2010

I’m in the midst of a lot of change. The donor is in town and we are reviewing the progress I’ve made, analyzing mistakes to learn from them and plotting the best course of action for the future. All very insightful and helpful processes.

On Monday we were doing the math to figure out how long it will take to build enough capacity to launch the brand and collection. We are aiming for a big splash at a trade show. Ambitious? Yes. But it would also guarantee a great introduction. So, onward and upward.

At any rate, the real point of all this mathematics is determining the calendar. We realize that the plan to be in a trade show this August is simply impossible. We’re not ready. The program isn’t ready. The product won’t be ready.

Of course, the next question is, “Could we aim for the next show in January? ” As we sat down and did the math we quickly realized that is also not an option. So, now I’m realistically looking at launching the brand in August 2011. A year later. A year of capacity building. A year of learning from mistakes and improving. There might be small opportunities to pursue in the meantime, but late summer 2011 is the target in my sights. The big bang. The whole kit and caboodle.

All of this talk of time means that these days I can’t help but think of everything and everyone I left behind. I know this is an amazing opportunity – one that I’m really enjoying probably because it is so challenging. I know I love it here. But I also know that I miss my support system. I’m developing friends and a network here, but that doesn’t mean I don’t miss what I had back home. Especially when the going gets tough.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Delia permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:53 pm

    We miss you too!! I need to get off my butt and schedule a visit already. Wanna skype tonight? 8ish?

  2. Mom permalink
    March 24, 2010 9:35 am

    Ut oh, I’m missing you and I’m sensing we’re not going to be seeing you for awhile in after December. 😦

    • March 24, 2010 10:36 pm

      I’m working on a 3-week vacation in Nov/Dec. But I’ll have to come back – there’s so much work to do. What are the chances you + Kim will come visit?

      Kim – if you’re reading this – convince her!

Leave a Reply

