Skip to content

Quick Bites

January 17, 2010

In the last two weeks, I…

went to a carnival tonight! the best part – it’s here year-round. I can play dart balloon games and eat cambodian carnival food ANYTIME I want. major score!

went to a Khmei club. The Khmei disco is a fun and funny place. Everyone does the same dance -think of a conga line of people doing a slower, looser version of the macarena- while the live band plays then goes nuts while the dj spins. The live band and dj alternate to keep the crowd even-tempered. Don’t want the kids to get too crazy!

attended a costing + pricing seminar completely in Khmei. I knew the discussion would be in Khmei but was told the slides would be in English. This was not the case. I did, however, meet a very friendly young man who translated the workshop for me. Attending a training seminar in a foreign language is something I can cross off my to-do list.

hosted a movie night at my house. In an effort to make our house more of a home, I invited some friends over to eat snacks, drink soda and watch Inglorious Basterds.

submitted to the Drew Magazine. Got an e-mail asking alums to share their recent success stories and thought, “why not?” So I put together an e-mail about my move to Cambodia and what I’m doing here. If they like what they read, then they might include a snippet in the magazine. That could be cool, right?

met with the master weaver + master dyer to discuss the latest sample they made for a potentially big project. (think: you could see the fruits of my labor in a store in the states this spring.)

thanks to a tip from conor, i discovered my new favorite snack – fresh rice cakes with caramel drizzled on top. three for 1000 riel (that’s $0.25)!

traveled to Phnom Penh twice. The first trip was less than stellar (as mentioned previously), but the second trip was great. Seriously, I feel much better about traveling to/through Phnom Penh twice a month. Oh, and I’m getting really good at bus trips and knowing what kind of food I can eat. For example, bananas and fruits with peels are okay. However, fruits without peels and vegetables that haven’t been cooked are not always such great options.

found a bar with fuseball and played an intense couple of games with Pierre, Romain + Lisa.

started a design brief and sketching logo ideas for the home + fashion collections I’m creating. Loven, a superb graphic designer and multi-talented artist who I’m honored to call a friend, has agreed to mentor me through the process of creating a brand identity. I am so grateful and excited to put my graphic design skills to the test! Thanks for the certificate, MCCC.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    January 18, 2010 12:22 am

    Hey Girl!

    This is soo exciting! Submitting to Drew, creating your brand identity, it seems like you are really checking things off your list of accomplishments! I’m so happy that you seem to be settled and continuing to enjoy and explore your surroundings.

    • January 18, 2010 10:57 am

      I’m building momentum… trying to keep the ball rolling! How is your new job going? xo.

  2. Mom permalink
    January 18, 2010 7:21 am

    Glad you had a great trip and that things are going great.

    As for MCCC no certificate has arrived even though you took the classes.

    • January 18, 2010 8:19 am

      do you get a physical certificate? i thought it was more about being able to say i took the classes and completed one.

Leave a Reply

