Skip to content

Phnom Penh: Take Two

January 14, 2010

Time to get back in the saddle. My first trip to Phnom Penh last week left much to be desired. I got very sick my first day, which also happened to be the day we all went out to Takeo Province to meet the weavers working on my program. Let me be clear: gastrointestinal distress is never fun, but especially not in a village where squatting is required when going to the toilet. Meeting the weavers was a highlight, but my body gave out soon after. A trip to a Western clinic confirmed my suspicions when I was diagnosed with bronchitis and loaded up with antibiotics.

So, I have vowed that my next visit to Phnom Penh WILL be better. I hadn’t planned to go back until February but a training opportunity that I couldn’t pass up arose. So this afternoon, Saloth and I will be boarding a bus heading to the capital. Tomorrow we’ll attend a workshop on costing and pricing (product development skills that I desperately need to refresh and hone) and then we’ll head back to Siem Reap on Saturday morning. Quick and dirty. Ready, steady, go!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:09 am

    Have a great trip and take it easy with what you eat, you know how I worry. Long ride for a short trip so take care and send an email when your back.

    Love Mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

